RobinPhone← All comparisons

RobinPhone vs PopTox: browser calling compared

Short answer

RobinPhone and PopTox both let you call real landlines and mobiles from a web browser without installing an app. PopTox offers limited free calls and sells unlimited calling as monthly subscriptions of $10, $20 or $50; RobinPhone has no subscription — you pay per minute from $0.02, with published rates for 175+ countries and a free first minute.

If you searched for a PopTox alternative, you’re looking for the same thing both services promise: open a browser tab, dial a real phone number abroad, and talk. The real difference is how you pay: PopTox is a monthly subscription, RobinPhone is pay-as-you-go. Here’s how they compare, using only what each service publishes about itself.

RobinPhone vs PopTox

FeatureRobinPhonePopTox
Pricing modelPay-as-you-go from $0.02/min — no subscriptionMonthly subscription: $10, $20 or $50
Pay only for what you useYes — billed per minuteNo per-minute option; “a simple & fixed monthly subscription fee”
Countries covered175+, every one at a published rate49 (Basic), 72 (Standard) or 129 (Premium) countries
Free callingFirst 1-minute call freeFree calls, but “you can only call the same number upto 5 times a day for free”
Length of a free call1 minuteNot stated on their site
Credit / commitmentPrepaid credit never expiresRecurring monthly charge
CancellingNothing to cancelBy written email to their support address
Your own number as caller IDYes, after verifying itNot stated on their site

PopTox details are quoted from poptox.com (homepage, /plans and terms) as of September 2026. RobinPhone has not independently verified them. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their site — not that they lack it.

Subscription vs pay-as-you-go: which is cheaper?

It depends on how much you talk. At $0.02 per minute, $10 of RobinPhone credit is 500 minutes — more than 8 hours — and it never expires. If you make occasional calls (a bank, a hotel, a monthly catch-up), pay-as-you-go costs far less than a $10–$50 monthly plan. If you talk for many hours every month to a country inside one of PopTox’s plans, a flat subscription can work out cheaper. Check that your destination is in the plan you’d buy: the Basic plan covers 49 countries.

Your callingRobinPhonePopTox Basic
One 20-minute call to a UK bank$0.40$10.00
2 hours to the US in a month$2.40$10.00
10 hours to the US in a month$12.00$10.00

RobinPhone figures use the $0.02/min landline rate. PopTox figure is the Basic plan price from poptox.com/plans.

Pricing

PopTox charges a fixed monthly fee for unlimited calls to the countries in your plan, with a limited free tier. RobinPhone publishes a per-minute rate for every destination, bills only the minutes you talk, and your prepaid credit never expires.

RobinPhone rates to popular destinations (per minute):

USUnited States$0.02/min
CACanada$0.02/min
GBUnited Kingdom$0.02/min
FRFrance$0.02/min
AUAustralia$0.03/min
JPJapan$0.04/min
PHPhilippines$0.28/min

Live rates — see the full rates for 175+ countries.

The verdict

Choose PopTox if you call the same covered countries for many hours every month and prefer one flat fee. Choose RobinPhone if your calling is occasional or varies, if your destination isn’t in a PopTox plan, or if you simply don’t want another subscription — you pay from $0.02 a minute, only when you talk.

Common questions

What is a good PopTox alternative?

RobinPhone is a browser-based alternative: it calls landlines and mobiles in 175+ countries with no app and no subscription, shows the per-minute price before you dial, and gives you a free first minute to test the line.

Is PopTox really free?

PopTox offers free calls with limits — its site says you can only call the same number up to 5 times a day for free. Unlimited calling is sold as monthly subscriptions: $10 for 49 countries, $20 for 72, or $50 for 129.

How much does PopTox cost compared with RobinPhone?

PopTox charges a fixed $10, $20 or $50 per month. RobinPhone has no monthly fee: you pay per minute from $0.02, so a 20-minute call to the UK or US costs about $0.40, and unused credit never expires.

Does RobinPhone have free calls?

Your first 1-minute call is free with no payment details. After that you buy prepaid credit ($5, $10 or $25) and pay per minute, from $0.02. There’s no subscription and credit never expires.

Do I need to install anything for either service?

No. Both run in a web browser. RobinPhone works in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox on desktop or mobile.

More comparisons

Switch in seconds

No app, no SIM, no subscription. Your first 1-minute call is free.